Trudie Callan

Photo-a-Week Challenge

Week 37 – 27. Memories

8 Comments

 

366_15.04.16

I came across this iron when we replaced our last one when it blew up! It is similar to one I used to use as a teenager. My Mum was an invalid during my teenage years and I helped with household chores. One of my jobs was the ironing, which I hated, especially my Dad’s shirts. Using this one is a pleasure and I enjoy using it. Good to get in touch with these resentful memories and replace them with good ones!

8 thoughts on “Week 37 – 27. Memories

  1. Your post made me smile because it also brought back memories of my “job” as a young girl. Unlike you, however, I always enjoyed ironing my brothers’ and Dad’s shirts, mainly because it kept me from having to do chores inside the house. We had a covered back porch and Mother would let me put the iron and ironing board out there when I ironed. I always took great pride in the way their shirts looked because my Dad would always praise me about the good job. We did not have a steam iron so I had to “sprinkle” the shirts and place them in a pillow case prior to ironing. To this day, I still enjoy ironing! Sorry to take up so much space on your remarks section; however, your post brought back such pleasant memories to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved ironing when I was a child, my job was to iron my dad’s handkerchiefs. My mom would keep the damp in the refrigerator so they were easier to iron. I actually still enjoy ironing it is very soothing to me.

    Like

    • I remember dampening down the clothes to iron. I too used to sprinkle them with water, roll them up and give them a good thump to help the water absorb.The refrigerator is a brilliant one. Thanks for the good memories.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have two of these. One for clothes and one for mounting photos from years ago. That one was also used to put wax on my skis.

    Like

  4. Again, more memories — I, too, helped with family chores and used an iron similar to that one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

