Trudie Callan

Photo-a-Week Challenge

Week 48 – 29. On Two Wheels

8 Comments

Our Camera Club had a photowalk this week along the River Thames at Hampton Court Palace. There was lots to do and see and a variety of photo opportunities. One of our members lives on a houseboat there and she took some of us on a trip on the river and another member, who lives nearby arranged for us to go across the river where there is a lock and weir. It was in the evening so we had perfect light and it was the end of a beautiful summer day.

I practised long exposures with the fast water of the weir, shot some backlit flowers, reflections, some graphic shots of bridges etc, a few landscapes, a few panning shots and a few into the setting sun. The quality is patchy but I had a good time choosing the apertures etc and I was pleased that I can make choices and know my way around my camera better. A good place to go back to and take more time on things I want to take better shots of.

I took the opportunity to take some shots for the above theme and managed to find a variety of subjects. There were lots of cyclists on the towpath but I was not fast enough or patient enough to get an action shot of them. There were scooters and motorbikes which seemed to have been there a long time but I did not have the correct f/stop etc to sufficiently blur the busy background. I found this bicycle parked in the bushes and I have used it.

f/8, 1/15, ISO 400 processed in Nik Collection,Silver Efex Pro2, Soft Sepia

On Two Wheels

8 thoughts on “Week 48 – 29. On Two Wheels

  1. Good choice, happy to hear you are having fun with your camera. It really is exciting when you learn that ‘other little bit’ that has been eluding you.

    Like

  2. Your boat trip sounds exciting and peaceful. Maybe some of your camera club friends would like to join in on the next Challenge beginning August lst. If so, let me know.

    Like

    • Unfortunately I missed the boat! I will pass on your invitation to join next year’s Challenge. I think I was the only taker last time. Sorry I have pressed the like button on my own photo!!!!

      Like

  3. I will miss your posts Trudie, it has been so fun to see England through your lens.

    Like

  4. I hope to do next year too. Hope you will too. I have enjoyed your posts too.

    Like

  5. very nice … rather keen to get this Nik collection – however I have bought two already that i dont know how to download onto photoshop!! Good to hear you are joining us next year. :}

    Like

    • I had the same problem then I noticed that it appeared in the filters. Dah!!!!! I have not explored the full package but it looks promising. The Black and white programme looks very impressive. I only have Elements so it is a useful addition. Looking forward to next year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

